Skip to content

My song – Iris’ American Dream – courtesy of T. Hughes

August 1, 2011

Iris’ American Dream

I decided to visit America

To check out the Land of the Free

The things that I love, that we all learned of

Americana from watching TV

So I settled in San Francisco

The beautiful City in the mist

I had just 60 days to experience her ways

And check 20 things off my list.

CHORUS:

Well I wanted to come to America

To see if she’s just what she seems

So I came here to know, soon I have to go

But I’m living my American Dream.

In a random encounter at the ballpark

Met a woman from the Gay Pride Parade

So I got a dress, and she helped me, God Bless

And made me Prom Queen for a Day

I was hoping to meet Dolly Parton

She’s a woman that I’d love to be

A wig and some makeup, a little bit of fake-up

Was the scariest thing you could see.

CHORUS:

Well I wanted to come to America

To see if she’s just what she seems

So I came here to know, soon I have to go

But I’m living my American Dream.

So I’ve starred in a Telenovella

And I learned how to busk on the street

I waitressed in a place where they all knew my name

As a cheerleader, I looked so sweet

I’ve even been a comic book character

And I got up onstage with a band

I discovered it’s nice, to give people advice

And I learned how to live off the land.

CHORUS:

Well I wanted to come to America

To see if she’s just what she seems

So I came here to know, soon I have to go

But I’m living my American Dream.

So now at the end of my ‘ventures

I’ll return to the good ol’ UK

And I know in my heart, that it’s only the start

‘Cos I’m sure I’ll be back here one day

But I’m sad to be leaving America

Saying ‘bye to my friends as I sing

So I just want to say, a big thankyou for the way

Y’all took me under your wing.

CHORUS:

Well I wanted to come to America

To see if she’s just what she seems

So I came here to know, now I have to go

But I’ve lived my American Dream.

Yes I wanted to come to America

Now I see that she’s just what she seems

So I came here to know, now I have to go

But I’ve lived my American Dream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

